On Discipline and Disciples (In 2 Parts)

Standard

Part 1:

Discipline (n):1. Training expected to produce a specific character or pattern of behavior. 2. Controlled behavior resulting from such training.  3. A state of order based on submission to rules and authority.  4. Punishment intended to correct or train.  5. A set of rules or methods.  6. A branch of knowledge or teaching.

Disciple (n): 1. One who embraces and assists in spreading the teachings of another.  2. Often disciple=one of the 12 original followers of Jesus.

 

So I’ll assume you’ve deduced that discipline will be the focus of today’s blog.  I realize that my lack of blogging since inception leaves a lot to be desired-hence he focus of today’s blog.  Please, I implore you to bear with me!  I’ve recently discovered that although I’ve promised a homesteaders blog, I cannot deny that I am a Christian, and that those ideals will inevitably leach out onto the page and ultimately be seen and felt not only in my writing, but also in the retelling of my life.  To clear the air, I love Jesus.  That being said, this is not an attempt at proselytizing, but it is a part of my life and I will not be ashamed or hide it.

So on to the good stuff.  I’ve been contemplating discipline a lot lately.  It seems that somewhere on the road from graduation to becoming a mother, I’ve lost some of the discipline within myself that was instrumental in the completion of things.  Don’t get me wrong, I exercise an incredible amount of discipline in some areas of my life, but others have fallen by the wayside.  And so, I’m inviting you to laugh and cry with my missteps and also to hold me accountable.  Even if I’m the only one reading this, my hope is this will serve as a timeline with which I’m able to measure my progress, or lack thereof.

Herein will follow a list of wants, needs, and expectations that I am currently aspiring to, struggling with, or just plain find necessary.

1.  No more haircuts!  I won’t be so extreme as to say ever again, but no haircuts for at least one year.  My last haircut was in December courtesy of my bearded hubby.  Let me explain.  I have a severe problem with cutting or dyeing my hair any time there are tough times in my life.  There is some internal cathartic release that occurs with every snip of the scissors.  However, I am seeking other alternatives to deal with my emotions-so, so long short hair!

2.  Plant and nurture and maintain a garden.  So far, (with a little help from some friends), stage 1 of the garden is complete.  There are raised beds (minus the soil), a compost box (already decomposing), and a front plot weeded and ready to receive some greenery.  Chickens are going to be lumped into this category too.  Gardening is essential in my life and I am going to have to get these seeds started if I want the goods.

3.  Blog regularly.   It is my most sincere hope to continue with this blog for a multitude of reasons, the largest being to appease you, the reader.  But seriously, I feel as if I need to continue to write.  It has been so long since I have put pen to paper (or fingers to keys) and it is a relief to be creating and sharing again.  I have found a joy within myself that has been lacking for so incredibly long.  I had no idea the hole within myself had grown so large and could be healed with words so easily.

4.  Be prepared to be broken and rebuilt a million times over.  This is the biggie.  Our church has placed us in discipleship groups of three.  I am in a group with two other ladies and we meet once a week.  The discipline is in the follow through.  I’m seeking to build a better me, but thankfully there are others along for the ride so I don’t have to go it alone.  However, both of these things help to draw me into my bible.  I am thankful that our housemates also help me to stay grounded in scripture on a weekly, if not daily, basis.  It is a blessing!

 

I realize that I have only just begun discussing discipleship, but I will leave off for now and complete this in the coming days-it’s far too weighty all together and I think I’ve held your attention for far too long.  Thanks for reading, and please return.  Peace.

 

 

 

 

About sailorsrevenge

I'm a wife to an amazing man who constantly challenges me to seek out my better self. I'm also a mother to a daughter who reminds me what it means to tilt my head to stained glass, in other words, how to see the world as an incredible organism to be dissected and absorbed. I'm striving to find a balance between homemaker and independent woman. Knitting, blowing bubbles, learning to live sustainably, laying tambourines, dancing, whispering, cooking strange and delightful concoctions, and laughing loudly & often are nonnegotiables in this journey!

3 responses »

  1. I’m so proud of you!! You are such an awesome woman, mother, wife, friend, sister….and I love you!! Can’t wait to read the next blog 🙂

Leave a Reply

