On Boiling Bones & Burying Crawfish

Standard

I’m making headway. Ya heard me? This past weekend Zach & some guys grilled 15 pounds of ribs after the parade. It was a feast, I tell you, a feast! I’m not saying this to get you salivating. I’m trying to help. You see, we save bones. All kinds. Chicken, pork, goat. You name it, we save it. I know you’re wondering why. No, we don’t build bone sculptures or make creepy, boney windchimes-although I’ve considered it. We, or more accurately, I, make my own stocks for cooking. And these glorious bones are the means to get there.

After this greasy, finger-licking rib feast we had beaucoup bones. While there is a natural proclivity towards discarding them, I was quick to holler, “Wait. Save them. Don’t throw them away!”. What resulted was an enormous pile of bones-some, which I froze for the future, and the rest I used to make stock with today. There is nothing more satisfying than really sucking the marrow out of the bones. Or plainly speaking, using everything to it’s fullest extent before throwing it away.

As for the crawfish, well that was another eating extravaganza this weekend. Sunday afternoon the guys ate some boiled crawfish and not surprisingly, many shiny red carapaces remained after all the meat was gone. So what did we do? Buried them, of course. This wasn’t a jazz funeral, mind you. It was merely a matter of soil enrichment. We’ve recently weeded the plot in front of the house in preparation of planting some beans. And although there were many worms, which is pleasing to any gardener, the soil can always be enriched. And so we buried crawfish in hopes that that something special, which makes crawfish so delectable, would leach into the soil in order to make things grow!

The moral of the story. Don’t throw away the good things in life, at least until you’ve maximized their profitability! Good luck and good eating!

Recipe for bone stock

Brown bones in a little butter until fragrant, then add enough water to cover those bad boys. Add a little vinegar (I use apple cider or malt) to get that calcium to release itself. Add salt to taste, some worchestshire for color, and your own seasoning blend. For this stock I used a Fleur de sel sea salt with rose petals, lavendar, and star anise, as well as some garlic and onion. Boil them bones for 30 minutes to an hour. Strain through a sieve and start cooking rice, beans, or whatever with that stock! Or freeze it for the future. Enjoy!

About sailorsrevenge

I'm a wife to an amazing man who constantly challenges me to seek out my better self. I'm also a mother to a daughter who reminds me what it means to tilt my head to stained glass, in other words, how to see the world as an incredible organism to be dissected and absorbed. I'm striving to find a balance between homemaker and independent woman. Knitting, blowing bubbles, learning to live sustainably, laying tambourines, dancing, whispering, cooking strange and delightful concoctions, and laughing loudly & often are nonnegotiables in this journey!

3 responses »

  1. Oh it all sounds delish and we are having crummy old hot dogs for supper and i am not sure I can even chew the popcorn…

  2. Good thing I read this before trying to make my own stock, because I would have just tried to boil them straight. I didn’t know anything about “browning” them with butter or the right seasonings to add. But now I do!

    The wonders of blogging. =)

  3. Pingback: One Bird, Three Meals | indiainkelephant

Leave a Reply

