That Boot’s Not Made For Walkin’

Standard

Aaahh! Sweet relief. Freedom! I cannot begin to explain how rewarding today has been. I realized that in these 9 months I’ve been waiting on my ankle bones to heal, I could’ve had another child! Instead, it was 9 months of waiting to walk without casts, boots, crutches, and canes.

So today, to celebrate this new found freedom to be a mover & shaker, I walked with Sailor in the stroller into the French Quarter to my favorite coffee shop, Cafe Envie. In leather boots. With wind whipping through my hair. Oh yeah, and a horrendous limp. But that aside, my celebratory Irish Cream Coffee (yes, liquor drinks at a coffee shop…see why it’s my favorite?). That drink was delicious!

As I sat at the table while Sailor munched her cranberry muffin, I could only see the possibilities stretching endlessly before me. The proverbial monkey is finally off my back, and it is GLORIOUS! I cannot wait to try riding my bicycle this weekend, especially since we have a seat for Sailor attached to it. We are about to be the bike riding family powerhouse of New Orleans. Well, let’s be serious, we will at least be enjoying the city more together and that is priceless. I can’t wait to start running again either. I’ve missed running so much & the catharsis that accompanies it.

But for now, I’ve got a blister about 3 inches long in the arch of my foot thanks to that celebratory walk. And I can’t wait to take many more!

About sailorsrevenge

I'm a wife to an amazing man who constantly challenges me to seek out my better self. I'm also a mother to a daughter who reminds me what it means to tilt my head to stained glass, in other words, how to see the world as an incredible organism to be dissected and absorbed. I'm striving to find a balance between homemaker and independent woman. Knitting, blowing bubbles, learning to live sustainably, laying tambourines, dancing, whispering, cooking strange and delightful concoctions, and laughing loudly & often are nonnegotiables in this journey!

2 responses »

  1. You are too much like me deary, just have to over do it. CONGRATULATIONS!!!!Yes the world is your oyster. God has been so very good to you and i am saying thanksgiving prayers tonight.

Leave a Reply

