A Hair’s Breadth

Standard

Friday I shaved my legs. Possibly for the last time. I know what you’re thinking. Why would you do that? Gross. Or maybe you’re trying not to gag. And there’s probably a few who are silently rejoicing that another woman has finally been converted.

Well, just so you know, I’ve already asked myself these questions. And I’ve asked my husband. Lying in bed Thursday night I pondered the reality of not shaving, weighing the pros & cons during our nightly pillow talk session. He remembers well how my leg looked after the cast came off-very, very hairy. But I’m not to be deterred.

You see, I’m on the path to self-sustainability. (You say hippie, I say happy). The journey of urban homesteading to this point has included many changes, but nothing too personal. And I think now it’s high time I changed that. I’ve been considering how many razors I go through and it is far too many. It is added waste that’s not recycled and just clogs landfills, like my hair going down the drain. And that’s not who I want to be. I’m trying to keep the world green and alive and beautiful for myself, and especially for my daughter. What future will she have if everything is grey and desolate? Not the future I hoped for that’s for sure.

And so, this new experiment. I know several ladies who have already chosen this life for themselves. And although I’m ashamed to admit it, I silently balked at your outrageously long hair. I thought laziness had taken over. I’m sorry. As a punk rock song puts it “Beauty is only skin deep, and everybody’s beautiful underneath”. I’m finally old enough to understand why you did it and humble enough to walk with you. I cannot imagine the feelings you went through as people stared, and gasped, and scowled. Perhaps now I’ll get a taste of my own medicine.

Ive given myself a two month trial. I think hopefully I will find that it can last forever, but for now I’m only committing to two months. I figure that gives mr plenty of time to look at my legs and the lack of a mountain of dispoable razors to make the best decision. I know summer isn’t the best time for me to conduct this experiment, but as I told my husband, I live in New Orleans. This city is so European that another lady with hairy gams is not eccentric, it’s normal. For those outside the Quarters, well, you’ll just have to forgive my natural decision when you see me in a skirt. Because it’s hot & I plan on wearing a lot of skirts! While you silently judge my downy plume, you can thank mr for still shaving my armpits.

About sailorsrevenge

I'm a wife to an amazing man who constantly challenges me to seek out my better self. I'm also a mother to a daughter who reminds me what it means to tilt my head to stained glass, in other words, how to see the world as an incredible organism to be dissected and absorbed. I'm striving to find a balance between homemaker and independent woman. Knitting, blowing bubbles, learning to live sustainably, laying tambourines, dancing, whispering, cooking strange and delightful concoctions, and laughing loudly & often are nonnegotiables in this journey!

One response »

Leave a Reply

