There’s More Than One Way to Skin a Cat

Standard

My cat is dead. I found her lying in the grass on the side of the road this morning. In front of our house. I’m devastated. I wish Zach would have found her on his way to work this morning. I’m thankful Sailor wasn’t out here when I found her.

I cannot begin to express my sorrow. I never thought she would look so bedraggled. She was meticulous in her fur upkeep. My little one-eyed warrior Weetzie. Her fur was wet. Tongue hanging out if her mouth. And the worst part was seeing all the ants working on eating her good eye. It’s my own Greek tragedy here this morning. Needless to say, there’s a splash of rum in my hot tea this morning.

Now that I’ve told about her death, I’d like to talk about her life. I adopted her from a shelter 8 years ago in hopes of her keeping my anxiety ridden dog company. She was already a year or so old. It worked. And they became inseparable. So did her & I. She was notorious for cuddling and sitting gargoyle-like on my lap. She loved her name. She loved rubbing & biting in Zach & my hair-as well as some unsuspecting guests. Sailor’s first word was “Meow”. Sailor would chat to that cat all day. And recently, she had taken to trying to pick her up & carry her around the house or the yard. Our do Preach would lick and bite on her face every night lovingly. They were best friends.

And, although it led to her demise, I’m glad she had the freedom of the great outdoors these last four months. She loved roaming and exploring. She was my jungle cat-catching lizards and proudly displaying them to us on the doorstep. I’m going to miss her. She was a beautiful orange tabby with giraffe blocks & one tortoise shell leg (her pegleg). And of course, only the one eye. I don’t know if she can be replaced. It will be a while. The house already feels empty without her.

Zach is on his way home from work to help me bury her. I could not bring myself to put her in the dumpster. She’s better than that. So sweet Weetzie, from dust you came & to dust you shall return. Thank you for almost a decade of companionship. Rest well, and we will meet on the other side.

About sailorsrevenge

I'm a wife to an amazing man who constantly challenges me to seek out my better self. I'm also a mother to a daughter who reminds me what it means to tilt my head to stained glass, in other words, how to see the world as an incredible organism to be dissected and absorbed. I'm striving to find a balance between homemaker and independent woman. Knitting, blowing bubbles, learning to live sustainably, laying tambourines, dancing, whispering, cooking strange and delightful concoctions, and laughing loudly & often are nonnegotiables in this journey!

Leave a Reply

