Alligators Among Us

Standard

Ok, so it’s a lie.  There aren’t any alligators.  But there is plenty of entertainment.  Monday afternoon, our family of three packed up enough of our belongings to entertain us and clothe us for one month.  You see, we are embarking on yet another adventure.  We headed to Panama City to visit with my sister and her glorious family, and then Tuesday morning headed to Deland.

We are currently in Deland with Zach’s parents.  It is a vacation of sorts.  Not the vacation of dreams, mind you, but a vacation nonetheless.   We left all of our belongings in my beloved New Orleans to head towards South Carolina for at least a month.  It seems so silly to me to go back to where we came from, but alas, desperate times call for equally desperate measures.

Don’t get it twisted.  I miss our family and friends.  However, I finally feel alive and free in New Orleans.  I am actually getting to be myself.  The self I’ve been hiding for so long at the risk of being “just another eccentric” in Columbia.  It is so refreshing to stop wearing black.  To be bright and colorful.  To wear tights and tunics.  To just be.  And NOLA is definately the place that allows me to feel that I can be all I can be!

I am excited to be in Deland with Zach’s parents.  Since arriving, we’ve had the Seibert staple of chicken and noodles, watched silly television, and laughed a lot.  Upon arriving to Columbia, there will inevitably be more of the same.  Good times with good friends is a non-negotiable.  Time with my family is going to be incredible for myself and my daughter, I am sure.  But, there is a tugging of my heartstrings from the city of my dreams.

The city that never sleeps.  The city where the Superdome always looks glorious in it’s golden splendor.  The city where street musicians gather on every street corner.  Crust punks galore.  Feathers and tamborines.  You see, it’s calling me back already.

About sailorsrevenge

I'm a wife to an amazing man who constantly challenges me to seek out my better self. I'm also a mother to a daughter who reminds me what it means to tilt my head to stained glass, in other words, how to see the world as an incredible organism to be dissected and absorbed. I'm striving to find a balance between homemaker and independent woman. Knitting, blowing bubbles, learning to live sustainably, laying tambourines, dancing, whispering, cooking strange and delightful concoctions, and laughing loudly & often are nonnegotiables in this journey!

One response »

  1. It’s going to be an adventure, for sure. Likely not without pitfalls. But I really suspect God has a reason for it, and that you’re going to discover some crucial things about Him and yourself during this time. We’re praying for you, lady!

Leave a Reply

