Sweet November

Standard

Oh, my it’s been quite a long time since I have written anything at all.  And while I had hoped this post would be full of insight, it may just be a recap of  the past few months!  I acquired a job in September at Lush Cosmetics, which, I might add, I love!  It is wonderful to work for a company that you truly believe in.  That being said, I encourage you all to check out their products at www.lush.com.  They would probably appreciate the plug….too bad noone working for Lush will ever read this.

I have been so busy trying to get a handle on this working mom thing, I have let other things fall through my fingers.  However, life is full and fun and silly, and sometimes that is all you can hope for and more than most people get!

I am still counting gifts and seeking to reach my 1000.  Halloween blew past with Sailor as a ballerina (photos soon I hope) and several shootings in New Orleans (the French Quarter).  I feel the need to rant a moment about this.  Ugly begets ugly and it is a shame that so many people were hurt or killed for foolishness.  I am outraged by the world we live in and how there is a lack of respect and love for one another.  It is shameful and I truly wish that others could adopt our family motto of  “Love is love”.

In other news, Zach and I are trying to help spearhead a mission to bring a community garden to the Treme.  I think it would be lovely, and inspirational, and educational, and most of all, fruitful.  Not just with the fresh veggies, but in the building of relationships.  I am very excited about he prospects of this and hope to report more in the future.

Also, I am building relationships with some of the elderly ladies in the neighborhood….Ms. Val, Ms. Jessie, and Ms. Bertha to name a few.  It is incredibly refreshing and rewarding to love on and learn from these older women.  And that they accept me…having the purple hair and all.  Oh yeah, my hair is purple!  And……I think I have finally realized my dream of being the neighborhood eccentric without having tried….which, is fantastic!  It has been so awesome to realize that just by being myself, I am the person I want to be.  No frills, no elaborate English writing, no fantasies…just me!

I made 30 in October and was able to celebrate in true New Orleans style at the Candlelite Lounge down the street where I was serenaded by and 80-something year old jazz player singing Happy Birthday and lots and lots of dancing!  Oh, and the compliments of being the “white girl in the neighborhood that CAN DANCE”!

So, all in all, it has been an amazing and exciting time to be us…a family.  As I told my husband on the couch Sunday, “These are the salad days” (from Raising Arizona), and how fun it is turning out to be!  Being a family is truly the most beautiful thing I could imagine….as far as intricate simplicity is concerned.  So until next time….lots of good vibes….

 

And may the Lord guide you through the wilderness and protect you through your storms…..because, He is good…

Tracey

About sailorsrevenge

I'm a wife to an amazing man who constantly challenges me to seek out my better self. I'm also a mother to a daughter who reminds me what it means to tilt my head to stained glass, in other words, how to see the world as an incredible organism to be dissected and absorbed. I'm striving to find a balance between homemaker and independent woman. Knitting, blowing bubbles, learning to live sustainably, laying tambourines, dancing, whispering, cooking strange and delightful concoctions, and laughing loudly & often are nonnegotiables in this journey!

One response »

Leave a Reply

